10 reasons organizing is a good thing:

Image

  1. Purging files and items is freeing. Sometimes holding onto things is stressful in ways we don’t understand. Allow yourself to toss items you felt you ‘had to keep’ such as Christmas gifts that are not to your taste or wrong size. Give these things to a charity so you can recycle them. Recycle any plastic plant pots sitting in your garage. I sold a lot of spray paint at my last garage sale for .25/can and sold all of them in my bin.
  2. Because putting like items in cupboards or bins allow things to look neater and feel cleaner. It also makes sweeping floors and dusting easier without clutter. You can stack bins easier than the free items, making for more storage space.
  3. Removing large items you never or rarely use allows for more storage space for the things you do use. If you are storing extra doors or tools you might use in a few years, it might be helpful to sell them or give them to a friend who will let you use them later when the need arises.
  4. Putting up shelves or cupboards in storage areas allow for better storage and access to items. I grabbed some cupboards from a street corner before the trash came by for pick-up. A friend hung them for me in my garage and added a door for a work bench. I can keep some of my gardening supplies in my cupboards and pot my plants on my bench.
  5. It just simplifies life. Let’s face it, most of us complicate our living by holding onto things that we seldom use and don’t need. We dust and clean around things we know we should move out, when we do it always seems to simplify our living spaces.
  6. Allowing someone else to benefit from your excess, can empower you.  There is just something about giving to someone less fortunate that can make you feel more in control of your life and gives your life more purpose. You are not just throwing your items away, you are giving them to someone else to use.
  7. It allows you to see what you don’t really need. I tend to be a hoarder. I collect things that I think I may one day need or use. If I haven’t needed it for a year or two at the maximum, I donate it. I find I really don’t miss it either. Life changes as you grow and sometimes the projects change too. This allows me to purge things from my life that are no longer valid. Don’t feel bad donating things you’ve spent money on, see it as giving to a charity.
  8. Knowing when it’s time to donate, makes organizing easier. Is there a project you’ve never gotten around to? Take stock in what those are and ask yourself if you will do that project in the coming months, if not donate.
  9. Seeing how much you accumulate helps to see what you won’t need. Whether it’s taking inventory or your ‘stash’ or seeing what you never use; when you organize you soon realize how much of anything you need. If you organize for a garage sale, you can use the money from the sale to buy things you need to stay organized. I did this a few years ago and was able to organize all my closets into more useful storage spaces.
  10. Sometimes it just makes sense to re-purchase an item than store it. There are times in our lives when it just makes sense to purge the left over scraps from a project than keep them ‘just-in-case’ you might have another project that could use it. You can take up a lot of space saving all those things.

A few places to donate to:

Goodwill, freecycle.org, Better World Books, Salvation Army.

Blessings in your organizing! fish

About designgirl178

Several years ago God blessed me with a beautiful son who happens to have Down syndrome. It has been a magical, sometimes difficult journey, I wouldn't trade it for anything. My son is awesome! You will see some blogs about Brody, but mostly I am blogging about my life and all that we do. After working for years in an industry that was slowly going to the oversees market, I lost my job. My shop started out of necessity and I've been loving my work ever since! I use a lot of found objects or recycled products and buy mostly in the US. I am proud to say most of the money you use to purchase my products does not go outside of the US. I have been making jewelry and weaving for many years and now enjoy these activities on an everyday basis. My beaded bracelets use found and recycled elements as does my weaving and fabric flowers, headbands etc. Custom orders will be honored as much as possible, and ask only that items be paid within 3 days, otherwise it will be listed for public sale and no longer reserved. I appreciate my customers buying American made goods and helping to save the environment at the same time. Thank you all.

Posted on May 3, 2014, in lists, organizing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

amberWIRE(dot)com

reporting on the daily shenanigans of my life

desire to inspire

down syndrome, single motherhood and blessings from God

downloadedblessings

down syndrome, single motherhood and blessings from God

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

